room 1 ECHOES


AUCHINOUN - FROM THE ALBUM "SAND, SILT, FLINT" BY FIONA SOE PAING Little is known of Auchindoun’s early history. It’s thought to have been built in the 1470s by the architect and master mason Thomas Cochrane, a favourite of King James 111 of Scotland. Further fortification was made in 1509 when the castle is recorded as being owned by Sir James Ogilvy who in this year granted Auchindoun to his nephew, Alexander Oglivy. In 1567 Alexander’s son sold the castle to Sir Adam Gordon, a kinsman of the Earl of Huntly. It’s during his ownership that the history of Auchindoun takes a dark turn and becomes associated with one of the most atrocious acts committed as part of Scotland’s notorious clan feuding. Following victory over his rival John Forbes of Towie at the Battle of Craibstone in 1571, Sir Adam Gordon ordered an attack on Corgarff Castle (see The Lass o’ the Lecht walk), which, at the time, was affiliated with the Mackintosh clan and owned by Forbes. Forbes was away when Gordon’s men arrived and his wife Margaret Campbell refused them entry. In retaliation they burned Corgarff killing Margaret, her children and servants. Revenge attacks followed by Willie Mackintosh on Auchindoun for both the burning of Corgarff Castle and the murder of James Stewart, Earl of Moray by the Earl of Huntly. In 1594 Sir Adam Gordon was killed at the Battle of Glenlivet and Auchindoun sold back to the Oglivy family and passed between owners through Civil War and Restoration. During the first Jacobite uprising in 1689 Auchindoun undertook brief service as a temporary headquarters of the Jacobite army. However, by 1725 Auchindoun lay derelict and many of the stones from the castle’s walls were removed and used in the construction of nearby buildings. Much of the clan feuding and deep Catholic/Protestant rivalry between the Gordon and Forbes families is recorded in the rich ballad tradition of the region. Including the burning of Auchindoun and Corgarff castles. The burning of Corgarff is remembered in the ballad of Edom o Gordon, while the burning of Auchindoun is immortalised in ‘Turn Willie Macintosh.’ Auchindoun Castle Walk The dramatic ruins of Auchindoun Castle crown a small hill in the heart of Scotland’s whiskey trail in Speyside and strike a lonely, windswept pose over the River Fiddich. It’s a 15 minute walk from car park to the castle along track and grassy pathways that lead through the surrounding farmland to the ruins. On leaving the car park follow a wide rough track that heads slightly uphill past clusters of lodge pole pine, sitka spruce and aspen trees to a farmhouse. Once at the farmhouse, a signposted gate points the way to a grassy track from which the ruins can be clearly seen up ahead. Head through a couple more gates and along a short track lined with ash, elm and sycamore trees that lead in procession towards the castle. On breezy days a keen wind funnels across a landscape of wild heather, home to pheasants, herds of wild deer and active wind turbines. Once inside castle ruins the remains of Auchindoun’s high curtain wall protects visitors from the strongest of winds. The castle is in effect a large tower house that rises across a number of floors, the most impressive of which, even in a ruinous condition, is a great vaulted hall on the first floor. Auchindoun’s rough lichen covered walls hold the memories of winters, summers, feasts and battles and it’s worth taking time to explore the nooks, crannies and remains of old fireplaces on the ground floor – the only floor accessible to the public. Although watch your footing on the uneven ground and look out for fenced off sections. Alongside the romantic ruins, the views of the surrounding Moray countryside are well worth the walk to experience and best taken in through the large, long and empty windows and doors that punctuate the remains of the castle’s curtain wall – watch out for the steep drop on one side. From this vantage point it’s easy to imagine the journey of Willie Mackintosh and his men en route to Aunchindoun to seek revenge for the burning of Corgarff, and the bitter clan rivalry that shaped the history and fabric of both castles. Practical Information Auchindoun Castle is maintained by Historic Environment Scotland. It is open year round and there is no charge for entry. The ruins are located two miles south of Dufftown in Moray off the A941, the main road between Dufftown and Rhynie (postcode: AB55 4DR). Turn onto a signposted farm track off the A941 that leads uphill to a small car park where the walk begins. There are no facilities at the car park. The path to the castle is uphill, rocky in places and wet sometimes. In the winter it can also be icy. Good walking shoes or boots are recommended. The grounds inside the castle walls make for a quiet and sheltered spot for a picnic. The nearest refreshments and public toilets are located in Dufftown. Alternatively, about six miles south of the ruins off the A941 at Lower Cabrach is The Grouse Inn. Part of Speyside Whiskey folklore, the inn is famous for its outstanding whiskey collection with around 235 on optics and in total over 700 to choose from. The Inn’s tearooms are open 10am – 6pm Saturday to Thursday and 1pm – 6pm on Fridays.

Fiona Soe Paing
Fiona Soe Paing



The Echoes


Discover more geolocated content in our apps.


Or start creating tours, treasure hunts, POI maps... Just let your imagination guide you.


Are you a creator?


Privacy & cookie policy / Terms and conditions

© ECHOES. All rights reserved / ECHOES.XYZ Limited is a company registered in England and Wales, Registered office at Merston Common Cottage, Merston, Chichester, West Sussex, PO20 1BE

v2.4.2 © ECHOES. All rights reserved.